Category Filter

How to Disenroll and Delete Device?

Disenroll an employee’s device from Hexnode MDM if you do not wish to manage that device anymore. Disenrolling a device gives you an extra slot to enroll another device.

You can delete a pre-approved device from the list by using the ‘Delete Device’ command. Note that you can delete only pre-approved devices from the device list.

Pre-requisites:

  • The devices should have an active network connection for Hexnode MDM to communicate with the devices.

Disenroll Devices

To disenroll multiple devices directly from Hexnode MDM console,

  1. Login to your Hexnode portal.
  2. From the Manage tab, check the device(s) which you want to disenroll.
  3. Select Disenroll device from the Actions drop-down.
  4. Click Yes on the confirmation message.

To disenroll a single device,

  1. Login to your Hexnode portal.
  2. From the Manage tab, click on the device name you want to disenroll. Clicking on the device name will take you to the Device Summary page.
  3. Select Disenroll device from the Actions drop-down.
  4. Click Yes on the confirmation dialog.

This will initiate disenrollment and the process will be completed as soon as the device gets connected to a network.

 

Note:

  • Disenrolling a device will permanently remove the device from Manage > Devices. However, you can access the device details of all disenrolled devices from Reports > Device Reports > Disenrolled devices. You can also export the details in PDF/CSV format.
  • On iOS devices, the devices will be disenrolled, removing all configurations, restrictions, and apps that you have set up using Hexnode MDM.
  • On Android devices, the Hexnode MDM app will be deregistered from the portal and exited from kiosk mode. Only the apps, added via Mandatory Apps policy with the option ‘Remove apps from the device on policy removal’ enabled, will be removed from the devices on disenrollment. All other apps, including the Hexnode MDM app, will not be uninstalled from the devices.
  • When the device enrolled as Device Owner gets disenrolled, the device will get removed from the Hexnode MDM portal. If Hexnode For Work app is opened on the device after the disenrollment action is executed from the portal, users will be prompted to reset the device to its factory settings. Without a factory reset, this device cannot be re-enrolled in any MDM.
  • Deleting the Hexnode MDM app or the MDM profile from the devices won’t disenroll the device. Instead, they’ll be marked “Agent removed” in the Hexnode MDM portal. If you try to enroll such a device again, the “Agent removed” tag will be removed, and all restrictions and configurations will continue to work.
  • Hexnode MDM leaves you with the choice of disenrolling the device assigned to a user if the user is deleted. Learn how to disenroll a device while deleting its user.

Warning:

  • Disenrolling a device will remove all data associated with the device from your Hexnode MDM server, and you won’t be able to access it again. So, before disenrolling a device, make sure you have proper backups of the data.
  • ROM-enrolled devices, if disenrolled, become incapable of automatic enrollment if the device is reset to factory settings. However, the device can be enrolled manually in Hexnode MDM.

Marking Devices as Disenrolled

The disenrollment status may sometimes appear as pending if the device has already been factory reset or if the device is offline for longer periods. If you have initiated the disenrollment action on such a device and the device is not yet disenrolled from the portal, you can mark your device as disenrolled straightaway. By marking the device as disenrolled, you can reuse that license to enroll another device without waiting for disenrollment to finish at the device end. To remove a device from the list of devices before the disenrollment is complete,

  1. Go to the Manage tab.
  2. Click on the device name.
  3. From Actions, select Mark as disenrolled.
  4. Click Yes to confirm your action.
Warning

  • Hexnode MDM will no longer communicate with a device that is marked as disenrolled. Any configurations or restrictions already applied to the device may not be cleared from the device. The device will be permanently removed from the list of devices in Hexnode MDM.
  • If a device is marked as disenrolled while it is in kiosk mode, Hexnode MDM loses control over your device and the device will be locked in kiosk forever. However, the kiosk mode in Android can be exited by using a global exit password provided under Admin > General Settings. If a local exit passcode has been specified under Policies > Kiosk Lockdown > Android Kiosk Lockdown > Kiosk Exit Settings, you need to provide this passcode to exit from the kiosk mode.
  • For iOS devices with the ‘Allow MDM profile removal’ option disabled during DEP enrollment, marking the devices as disenrolled will disallow the devices from enrolling in other MDM solutions or re-enrolling in Hexnode MDM. However, devices added to DEP via Apple Configurator will have a provisional period during which the users are free to remove the MDM profile.
  • In Samsung Knox or LG GATE devices, if Device Administrator is prevented from getting deactivated, the device cannot be enrolled again in Hexnode MDM, but enrolling in other MDMs will work.

Delete a Pre-approved Device

If you add a pre-approved device and the user hasn’t enrolled the device, then the device can be deleted from Hexnode MDM. If a user has already enrolled the device, disenroll the device to remove it from the Hexnode MDM server.
To delete a pre-approved device,

  1. From the Manage tab, check the devices you want to delete.
  2. Select Delete Device from Actions.
  3. Confirm by clicking on the OK button.