Recommend configuration profile creation tools

expand collapsive

I am a rookie IT admin looking for recommendations… I have been trying to find tools to create and edit configuration profiles, but I can’t decide on any…

All Replies

• Participant

Gianna

Participant

It is an accessible tool to create and edit configuration profiles as well as deploy them. However, you need to have a wired connection between a mac with Apple configurator installed and the target device to deploy the profile. Not practical for IT admins with large fleets of devices.

• It is perfect for smaller businesses with a handful of devices. However, I suggest you use it with an MDM for the extended functionality of deploying profiles in bulk and monitoring the progress on the device end.

• Participant

Raul

Participant

Sure, I do use Apple Configurator and it is my go-to right now, but I would like to familiarize myself with other options. Also, I would love to know more about the user experience you guys might have with other tools.

• Participant

abbi

Participant

IMazing is a stellar tool! I have used three profile editors in the past, Apple Configurator, iMazing and ProfileCreator. All three have been solid. However, I particularly like ProfileCreator as it is a community-built project.

ProfileCreator is free to download from GitHub, though it has had fewer updates since then and has become a bit buggy. Nevertheless, it was a lifesaver for mac admins everywhere as it supported third-party apps quicker than Apple, albeit with some caveats. Both iMazing and ProfileCreator are powered by the ProfilePayloads framework maintained by the ProfileManifests repo, which supplies both with new third-party apps’ keys for config profiles.

Here are the GitHub repos for open-source enthusiasts!
    https://github.com/ProfileCreator
    https://github.com/ProfileCreator/ProfileManifests

• Participant

abbi

Participant

I am not an expert… I will give you my thoughts,

Apple Configurator