Will an iPhone stay enrolled after factory reset if enrolled locally with Apple Configurator?Solved

Participant
Discussion
2 weeks ago Aug 07, 2026

I have a supervised iPhone that was enrolled into Hexnode using Apple Configurator from a Mac. It was a local USB enrollment and the device was not added to Apple Business. If I factory reset the iPhone, will it stay enrolled in MDM? I’m also wondering if there is any way to clear the phone’s data but keep the device managed.

Replies (1)

Marked SolutionPending Review
Hexnode Expert
2 weeks ago Aug 07, 2026
Marked SolutionPending Review

Hello @finn ,

For iPhones enrolled locally through Apple Configurator without Apple Business, a factory reset removes the MDM management profile and disenrolls the device.

Local Apple Configurator enrollment stores the management profile on the device. When the iPhone is erased, that profile is removed along with the rest of the local data. Since the device is not assigned through Apple Business, it will not automatically return to MDM enrollment during Setup Assistant.

After the reset, the device must be connected to the Mac again and re-enrolled using Apple Configurator.

If you need the device to re-enroll automatically after future wipes, add the device to Apple Business and assign it to the Hexnode MDM server. Then, after a factory reset, the device can be guided back into management during Setup Assistant.

Regards,
Simon Scott
Hexnode UEM

Save