Block the user from accessing a windows device enrolled in Hexnode

Avatar
expand collapsive

We have an employee with Windows machine that is no longer with the company. If we lock the device, does that just send it to the lock screen and he can unlock it with his password?

All Replies

  • Avatar

    Grace Baker

    Hexnode

    Grace Baker

    Moderator

    Hey, Thanks for reaching out to us.

    If you are locking the device via Remote actions, the device will be locked in the normal way. The lock screen will appear on the device and the user will be able to login using the login credentials.
    However, if you want to remove the data on the device and block the user from using it, you can wipe the device. This will remove all the data in the device and factory reset the device.

    To wipe a device:

    1. Navigate to Manage-> Device and select the desired device.
    2. Click on the Actions button and choose the option ‘Wipe Device

    Cheers!
    Grace Baker
    Hexnode MDM

  • Avatar

    pirx

    Participant

    pirx

    Participant

    Hey!

    But what does that mean for a Windows computer, to “factory reset” it?? 🙂

  • Avatar

    Thomas Specter

    Hexnode

    Thomas Specter

    Moderator

    Hi,

    Thank you for reaching out to us.

    When a Windows Device is wiped via Hexnode, all the data from the device is wiped including the OS. You shall then have to re-install the OS either by downloading it, and activating it with your serial key; or through a recovery disk/ drive.

    You can learn how to wipe devices managed in Hexnode from here.

    Cheers!

    Thomas Specter
    Hexnode MDM