Will deleting a user from Hexnode using API disenroll his devices?

Willow
expand collapsive

When deleting a user using API, do any enrolled devices also get deleted? Or would I need to send disenrolls before deleting?

All Replies

  • Avatar

    Grace Baker

    Hexnode

    Grace Baker

    Moderator

    Hey, Thanks for reaching out to us.

    Yes, if the users are deleted using API, the devices that are assigned to that user will be disenrolled.
    So, you need not initiate a disenroll action on these devices.

    Cheers!
    Grace Baker
    Hexnode MDM

  • k@ren

    k@ren

    Participant

    k@ren

    Participant

    A little late here but why use API to delete a user?

  • Deborah Timothy

    Deborah Timothy

    Hexnode

    Deborah Timothy

    Moderator

    Hello K@ren,

    Thank you for reaching out to us.

    Hexnode provides API(s) to customers who wish to perform some repetitive operations on the devices and users in Hexnode without using our web interface.  For example, to delete a user, the HTTP request and shell command are as follows:

    HTTP request:

     DELETE https://<portal>.hexnodemdm.com/api/v1/users/{USER_ID}/

    Shell command:

     curl -H "Authorization:<your API key>" https://<portal>.hexnodemdm.com/api/v1/users/{USER_ID}/ -X DELETE

    Refer to our help documentation to understand more about API.

    Hope that helps
    Cheers!!
    Deborah Timothy
    Hexnode UEM

  • _patricia_

    _patricia_

    Participant

    _patricia_

    Participant

    I was wondering what will happen if I delete the user from Hexnode. Will it disenroll the device under the user?

    (not with API, in general)

  • Zach Goodman

    Zach Goodman

    Hexnode

    Zach Goodman

    Moderator

    @_patricia_, that’s a good question.

    When you attempt to delete a user from the portal, you may choose any one of the options for the devices enrolled under the user –
    ● Disenroll device
    ● Assign to a different user

    If you choose to disenroll the device, all devices enrolled or added on the portal (pre-approved devices) will be disenrolled and deleted respectively once the user is deleted. If you choose to change the user, you’ll be redirected to the Change Device Owner window where you can set a new device owner for the device.

    Note: You may only delete local users. Also, you cannot delete any user set as ‘default’ under Enrollment authentication modes, Apple Configurator or DEP enrollment wizards.

    Hope this helps.
    Cheers!
    Zach Goodman
    Hexnode UEM